2 year fix. Upgrade or rebuild?

Aerillious

Honorable
Aug 9, 2013
I am looking to make an upgrade:

Processor: AMD 2 core 3.2. ghz (The model number escapes me)

Board; Asrock N68C-S UCC

Memory: 8GB DDR2

GPU: 550ti

I am not certain what power supply I'm running, so I'll have to crack the case and have a look.

I'd like to make an upgrade that will cover me for the next two years. I am a videographer, so I regularly push the adobe suite pretty hard, including After Effects and Premiere.

I am also looking to (for many reasons, but particularly cost effectiveness) consolidate my gaming into entirely PC.

I would like to know if jumping to an Phenom 1055t and maybe a GTX 660 would cover me in that time period, or am I just going to be spending money that won't do me very much good?

I am on a very limited budget, so I'd like to avoid a rebuild if I can help it, although I'm knowledgable enough to know that might simply be the reality.

Thanks

kirilmatthew

Honorable
Jul 24, 2013
Your CPU for sure needs a change. It mostly depends on your PSU. The phenom will consume a lot of energy and so will a new GPU. its hard to say which one to do. It depends on how much money you want to spend.

Aerillious

Honorable
Aug 9, 2013
I'd say I'd cap out at about $500.

For context, I'm hoping this build can get me through my last year at school at which point i'll be getting married and moving to a new city for work, so I imagine I won't have the budget to get a brand new build for about another year afterwards.

I understand that in some cases spending $500 might not do me much good vs putting together a large budget in favour of a rebuild, which is why I've asked for some second opinions.

Aerillious

Honorable
Aug 9, 2013