PC build aimed at playing strategy games for roughly 750 swiss francs/€600/$800

PK-1990

Honorable
Aug 16, 2013
I am mainly a console gamer nowadays with a shitty laptop that can't run most things.

However, I do love my strategy games from now and then Age of Empires, Total War (especially the Shogun installments), The Settlers, Command & Conquer etc. etc.

So I have been thinking about building a pc for years now just so I can play those franchises without any problems on the highest settings possible.

However, as with most people, the budget is a problem.

I am a noob at hardware, what to look out for, best bang for buck, what I actually need to meet my requirements and whatnot.

So I would like to recruit your help select the best components for the job.

Thank you all in advance for your input.

Edit: In Switzerland I'll order from www.digitec.ch I guess (unless somebody knows something cheaper?), that site is in English as well.

In the Netherlands we've got this site called Tweakers - http://tweakers.net/categorie/14/basiscomponenten/producten/ - which doesn't sell the components themselves but compares prices and stuff. The site in Dutch but it has pictures and names of the components as well as the prices so it shouldn't be that hard to understand.

Vacka

Honorable
Aug 10, 2013
Hey dude! First I need to know the website you are buying the parts from. Because part prices can differ from different places.

PK-1990

Honorable
Aug 16, 2013

Oh... ehm, well I haven't quite decided where I was going to buy the parts but...

In Switzerland from www.digitec.ch I guess (unless somebody knows something cheaper?), that site is in English as well.

In the Netherlands we've got this site called Tweakers - http://tweakers.net/categorie/14/basiscomponenten/producten/ - which doesn't sell the components but compares prices and stuff. The site in Dutch but it has pictures and names of the components as well as the prices so it shouldn't be that hard to understand.