cpu water cooling or big air cooling?

kuki999

Honorable
Aug 22, 2013
i'm going to build a gaming pc and i dont know what cooling to choose water cooling or air cooling
specs are:

Inte Core i7-4770K
Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Samsung 840 evo ssd 120gb
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8gb)
2x EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
be quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 1000W
2x Seagate Barracuda 3tb
Corsair 900d

i want to overclock to 4.5Ghz and its my first time using such a powerful CPU
and for the 32gb ram i work with adobe premiere and want to start youtube :D
should i get a closed loop water cooling or get a big A$$ air cooler like a huge one?

Spencer1-1282133

Honorable
Mar 17, 2013
Yeah those 2 are great competitors in their respective categories. However, the H100i sounds like a leafblower with the fans on high.

The Noctua nh-d14 is quite similar in performance to the H100i. However, it is very quiet. Noctua fans are very, VERY quiet. I just got a used nh-d14 online from amazon's warehouse deals that was supposedly with all parts included, but it was missing a fan (yeah they really screwed it up) and thermal compound, along with some of the mounting screws. I sent it back today.

I did plug the fans in to another system though to see how quiet they were. I was impressed to say the least, considering the type of fans I was used to.

I would go for the noctua. However, Haswell has some heat issues that are similar to Ivy Bridge's, only more pronounced from what I hear. On some chips, any realistic amount of cooling doesn't get you as far as you'd hope. Don't let that discourage you though. A Noctua will still do really well compared to anything else. Depends how you do in the silicon lottery :)

What kind of water-cooling are you talking here?
A CLC (your Corsair Hydro, Coolermaster Seidon, NZXT Kraken type coolers) or a full on Custom Loop?