Question about Different CPU's

DanBonehill

Honorable
Aug 23, 2013
Hi guys, So this is my first post on here. Just a quick background so at some point I am looking to build a PC for heavy gaming. I'm a complete noob really when it comes to CPU's and GPU's as there seems to be so many. I've read a few forums on here and just had a few questions of my own.

So I've read an article on AMD's new(ish) 8 core CPU's FX-9590 4.7Ghz-5.0Ghz and some people are comparing that to various I5 or I7 Intel Quad Cores. I've come across an Intel 8 Core the Xeon® 8-Core E5-2687W and just wondered is this a good or bad CPU or why its not really been mentioned much at all.

I've also seen anIntel® Core™i7 Six Core Processor Extreme i7-3970X What are people thoughts on this?

Is 6/8 Cores really needed for gaming, I mean if I build a PC I want it to last me a while and be "future proof" if thats at all possible in this day and age.

I know I've asked quite a few questions there and I will probably still have more once I've had a few responses but just thought I'd get people opinions. I'm no fan boy, I've seen a few fanboy posts on here in other articles. I'm more familiar with Intel CPU's than AMD if I'm honest but that wont sway me much.

Thanks in advance for any replies :)

Jaxem

Honorable