Budget Gaming CPU Suggestions

Hey. Could anyone tell me any good CPUs under $200 for gaming, and a good motherboard to go with it (Motherboard up to $150).

Should I go with a current gen Intel i5, or should I use the older i5-2500K? I prefer not to have an AMD, but then again, I've never used one before.

Thanks in advance.
9 answers Last reply
More about budget gaming cpu suggestions
  1. So total budget appears to be $350 if I am understanding you correctly. If that is the case, a 3570k and an Asrock Z77 extreme4 would make for a nice combo.
  2. logainofhades said:
    So total budget appears to be $350 if I am understanding you correctly. If that is the case, a 3570k and an Asrock Z77 extreme4 would make for a nice combo.

Thanks for your fast response, but I'm wondering, isn't that a third gen CPU? What benefits are there to buying this model instead of going for a fourth gen i5?
  3. considering they are teh same price on newegg (after $20 gift card) I would say go for the 4670k. Of course this would require a different motherbd, one with a socket 1150.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007627%20600438202&IsNodeId=1&name=LGA%201150
  4. you could go the route of the i5 2500k and the msi z77a-g45 gaming mobo both should be in your price range.
  5. noah131 said:
    logainofhades said:
    So total budget appears to be $350 if I am understanding you correctly. If that is the case, a 3570k and an Asrock Z77 extreme4 would make for a nice combo.

Thanks for your fast response, but I'm wondering, isn't that a third gen CPU? What benefits are there to buying this model instead of going for a fourth gen i5?

4rd gen costs more overall, uses more power, generates more heat, and doesn't overclock as well and is at best 10% faster. Not worth the added cost. That slight performance gap can easily be made up due to ivy being a better overclocker.