Sign in with
Your question

Choosing between LGA1155 and LGA1150

Last response: in Motherboards
August 30, 2013 11:54:48 AM

Hi I'm building a pc my second one. My question is if you were building a good gaming PC right now which type of motherboard would you go with. Looking at half-dozen CPUs I noticed some of them take one type socket and take the other socket. I read somewhere that LGA1155 is finished, where LGA1150 is just getting started. What is your opinion.

The two frontrunners so far are intel core i5 i5-2500K and Intel Core i7-3770K. So the sockets are not in question at least with these two. Which is the better processor for the money I can get the 3770 about 30 bucks more is it worth it. Which one is better for a gaming PC CPU.

I probably will not be overclocking since I have never done that before in any of my other computers. I'm little leery about doing the first time without really knowing what I'm doing. So I won't overclock until the computers is about at the in of it's life and just can't stand how slow it is.

Any suggestions for motherboard or a better CPU for the mid-$200 range best bang for the buck for gaming PC will be greatly appreciated.
August 30, 2013 12:12:09 PM

Well, Your right the 1155 socket is now considered "Dead" and there will be no more. However before you build your rig i would suggest you wait till the "Haswell Refresh" sometime in early to mid September. I would definitely go with Haswell due to the better single core performance, which of course could be good for gaming. As for mid-200 CPU's The next build I'm Going to do will be under 1500 dollars and will be running the i5-4670K which i have heard that it is one of the best gaming CPU's around for the price. However it is not hyper-threaded, but most games are not going to use more than 2 cores. That's my 2 cents... Good Luck!
August 30, 2013 12:12:47 PM