Touchscreen vs Dedicated GPU

Which one is a better value?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonathanese

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2010
I just recently upgraded my laptop from an old Turion X2 after it literally blew smoke.

So I was caught between the Acer Aspire V3-571G-9686 and a newer Acer with a touchscreen and backlit keyboard with an aluminum chassis. Either one would be upgraded with 8GB of ram and a SSHD

For comparison

The one I got: http://
Core i7 3632QM
Geforce 640M
No Touch
No Backlit keyboard.
$630 was what I paid for the display system. Originally $800-$900

The other one(or similar): http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=8182687&CatId=4935
Core i5 3337U
Intel HD 4000
Touchscreen
Backlit keyboard
Aluminum chassis
No DVD drive.
$600 new

I'm not TOO heavy of a gamer, but I do game. I'm an engineering student. My main concern was with FL studio, and its advantages with a touch screen, as well as windows 8's advantages. I went ahead and downgraded to 7 for my current laptop, leaving windows 8 on the original drive.

I just wonder if the extra performance is worth missing features.

mc962

Honorable
Jul 18, 2013
i guess it depends on what you need. the gamer in me would say "hell no, don't you dare get a TOUCHSCREEN over a dedicated gpu"