Patriot Pyro SE RMA - What happens when THEY fail...

G

So, let me start by saying that as an IT/IS professional, I've never had a good experience with Patriot Memory. I've purchased DRAM modules before only to have them show up DOA, usb flash drives that failed after less than 6 months of minimal use, and no less than 2 failed SSDs (both of which were Pyro SE models). I also realize that defective products are not unique to any one manufacturer, and that sometimes you just have bad luck. However...

I finally decided to request an RMA for a 240GB Pyro SE drive. I met with no resistance/questioning regarding the mode of failure, or what other components were involved, what troubleshooting I'd done, etc. I was simply given an RMA number and told to ship to the given address, which I did.

After receiving my shipment, a rep got back to me and asked me if I wanted one of the other Patriot products in their line up as a replacement, as they had no 240GB replacement Sata III SSDs in stock. I replied back that I had no use for anything else - I just wanted 'a' 240GB Sata III SSD, or something better if they couldn't make that happen (pretty customary for electronics vendors in my experience). I then got a reply stating the availability of any Sata III 240/256GB SSDs was uncertain at best, and was then prompted to please let them (Patriot RMA dept.) know how I'd 'like to proceed so that the ticket can be closed.'

I was offered 2x120GB Sata III SSDs (of some kind - no part number or model was listed), or a 256 Torqx 2 Sata II SSD, or one of their new Aero wireless HDDs as replacement/fulfillment of warranty terms. I eventually decided to go with 2x120GB Sata III drives, because I figured they'd be easier to sell than an older 256GB Sata II drive.