Help Please, Switching noob went to an auction. Cant log into a used switch.

ThatSwitchNoob

Honorable
Sep 12, 2013
Hi,

Im a network administration student and wanted to do some hands on so i went to an auction and bought a used switch. Which i cant log into to do anything.

I get no activity off the comm port which is probably why it was at auction but maybe theres a management vlan set up and i could still get in?

The problem is i have little idea how to do so i have little experience with "putty" and dont know the commands very well but what i REALLY need help with is just getting to the CLI.
The switch is a cisco catalyst 3550 any help would be greatly appreciated.

ThatSwitchNoob

Honorable
Sep 12, 2013
Update- i just remembered the whole you need a rollover cable or something to use a comm port. I guess my question is (since i dont have any cables like that) Is does anyone know a way to log in without knowing what its settings are through a regular ethernet port on the front.

SirSub42

Honorable
Aug 31, 2013
If I recall from my cisco courses..the IP for the management is 10.0.0.1 and you can access that if you are plugged into any of the switch ports. If you want to access the CLI, then you will need the rollover/console connected to your computer's NIC. Then you can use putty or simply HyperTerminal to form a session. I believe all defaults except for the Flow Control, but I can't remember what we set it to. Anyhow, hope this helps. Keep me in mind if you need any help. I just finished the four course Cisco Network Discovery over the summer and would look forward to a refresher if you have any questions with getting your 3550 up.

Lets assume someone did this correctly.

There will be no way to guess the management ip set on the switch or even which port is on the correct vlan and if it is very secure with 802.1x the ports will not even come on without central authentication.