Upgrade Geforce 250 Card

e_ascencio

Honorable
Sep 13, 2013
I have recently started playing the new final fantasy online game and have noticed that I have neglected my computer ever since I bought it about 4 years ago.
My specs are :

Intel Core Duo E8400 3.00GHz
XFX nForce 780i 3-way sli

I was wondering what would be the best method to get some extra fps out of the game..I'm a noob when it comes to computer stuff so my first reaction would be to upgrade the graphics card to maybe a GTX 570 or something similar? I don't need top of the line, I just need something that could hold me along with that game even if it is an old graphics card. Even if I buy a newer one I'm afraid that it wont matter because of my CPU
Or am I wrong and going about it the wrong way a CPU upgrade would be more beneficial?

eatmypie

Honorable
Sep 12, 2013
You have a pretty good core duo processor but I would go with a cheaper video card like the gtx 650, I remember a video from a year ago where they tested the best possible video card for core duo series and back then I think it was the gtx 450ti or 550ti was the best bang for your money. But if you plan on upgrading your processor down the road get something like a gtx 760 or ever a radeon 7950 is crazy cheap atm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0quvkEOMIXM

Please watch this video for a better explanation,

e_ascencio

Honorable
Sep 13, 2013

Cool I think I will just go with a gtx 650. If I do get a new system up it will prob. be next year sometime thats if I am still playing final fantasy reborn. Like I sad in my original thread I hadn't really played any computer games for a while and don't feel like plopping big money right now not knowing if I will still even be playhing next year.
One last question it says gtx 650 is PCI Express 3.0 x16 my board is only PCI express 2.0 x16..will it still work?