External network access from an internal pc (internal-->internet-->internal)

Who should get a cake? (please read the post first)

• Total voters

bleijendeckers

Honorable
Sep 14, 2013
I have a question regarding a connectivity issue. Before I start, everything is working fine. It is just I am studying for network+ at the moment and I just do not understand why it is working as it is working and I hope someone can clear it up for me.

One day a week I work for a company that uses a virtual OS, you first boot your regular PC and then you use a RDP connection (called terminal server) and it opens a virtual Windows from which all work is done. You can login from a local PC on the local network or from any PC outside the local network.

When connecting to the server from outside the local network you use a FQDN and a port number (xxxx.xxxx.xx:xxxx). When I try to connect from the internal network using this address it just won't work (they use another address for this). I fail to see why. In my opinion the following should happen:

1) The FQDN will be resolved by a public DNS server (as far as I am aware no local DNS is running).
2) The public DNS server will return the public IP address of the company's router
<up to here I am 100% confident this is true, as there is no local DNS and probably no configured host file so it cannot be resolved locally --> and if there were a local DNS it should really work as things get forwarded to the right service without ever reaching the router)