I need to download proprietay drivers for Radeon 5450 and enable sound output through hdmi, need some assistance

RedInferno

Honorable
Sep 22, 2013
I just rebuilt an old acer x1700 and I installed a new Radeon 5450. I am no longer using the stock windows vista. I installed Ubuntu Quantal for my os and now I am having trouble with the sound...there is none. I recieved a cd for installing the drivers but it was not for linux, only windows. I am assuming it is using open source drivers from unbuntu...how do i install the proprietary drivers and enable sound? Once I get past this hurdle I should be great. Btw this is my first pc rebuild and I am also new to linux. It would be nice if i had friends I could ask to help...but i have no such thing. Thanks in advance.

Video card: xfx one radeon 5450

RedInferno

Honorable
Sep 22, 2013
Solved my own problem. Just follow the instructions below if you have similar issues.

Using Ubuntu-supplied fglrx/Catalyst

On Ubuntu Quantal, this will install fglrx/Catalyst 9.000, which is roughly equivalent to Catalyst 12-9. NOTE: You must have the restricted repository enabled in Applications -> Software Sources... for this to work. After you complete the install, skip to Generate a new /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.
Command line

sudo apt-get install linux-source fglrx fglrx-amdcccle

GUI

Jockey was removed in 12.10. You now need to go to Software Sources and go to the Additional Hardware tab. You will need to install linux-headers-generic beforehand, or the Panel won't show up after the restart.

Installing Catalyst Manually (from AMD/ATI's site)

I recommend copying and pasting the commands to ensure there are no typing mistakes and speed up the install process. Remember to use Ctrl + Shift + V or Shift + Insert to paste into the terminal (or go to the terminals menu, select edit and click paste).

Before you start