Seeking advice for a new gaming PC

MauriciusRex

Honorable
Sep 26, 2013
Hello everyone. I have been looking into building a new gaming PC these last few weeks, but I am completely new to it, and have no idea what to look for, or what exactly works best for me. What started it all is my CPU, which is getting old, and it's really starting to show. Naturally, I tried to find a new and better one. But what started as a simple idea quickly turned into quite the learning experience. But after a week of searching, I have finally pieced together something I like. Now I just need some expert opinion on whether or not my choices are good, and what could be improved.

So here is what I've found so far:
- NZXT Phantom Special Edition Black/Orange
- Intel Core i7-4770 3,4GHz
- ASUS Maximus VI Hero (Socket-1150)
- Corsair CX 750W PSU
- Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR 1600MHz 8GB
- Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB BK OEM
- Seagate Barracuda 2TB

Currently, it's about $1442, and I'm trying to keep it around $1450.

I also currently have a Geforce GTX 560 Ti, so I don't see the need to upgrade my GPU just yet.

The reason I went with the i7-4770 is because I'm a bit biased. I wanted the newest and the best on the market, as it is my CPU that is the cause of my woes. And since I am looking to build a PC that can last the next 5 years (since I plan on studying at a university), I thought it was the most prudent choice. I was, however, looking at the i5-4670 to save some money, but as I said, I'm a bit biased right now, and I'm not too fussed about spending a bit extra on a snazzy new CPU. :pt1cable: