Buying a NAS : Synology or ZFS ?

G

Hi !

I'm a college student. I'm currently studying electronics and networking, and I plan to continue up to the university.

I'm currently looking for a storage solution. As I plan to make in a medium-term some Microsoft and VMware certifications, I need something fast and efficient for the storage.

I saw on many blogs of user that actually use a Synology NAS DS412+ for their storage pool.
I'm currently hesitating between getting such a NAS (the model I want would be the DS1513+) or building straight an ESXI server that would host a NAS OS. Many recommend me using a system that supports the ZFS file system.

Currently, I only have a MacBook Pro Retina and a workstation (Core i7 2700k 4.5 GHz, 16 GB RAM, P8P67 WS Revolution). I have a 2 TB shared RAID 1 array into my workstation (running Windows 7) but I'm running out of space.

Synology offers a real nice and easy solution. I'm a network technician so configuring the whole thing isn't scaring me. But I liked everything of the Synology : DNS server, DHCP, Cloud app, iOS app, NFS/iSCSI, iTunes library... But it lacks the ZFS and many people says "ZFS is life" an I should even not think about the Synology solution.

As of networking hardware, I have a Cisco 2960s-24TS-L Gigabit Switch for networking.

So, with your experience, what would you recommend me for a storage solution ?

Thank you very much for your help.

G

Sure, if it would be only for that point, there would be no question !

But it's also a question of performance.

I read that ZFS systems need a lot of hardware resources to achieve good performances. That means quad-core CPU with a lot of ECC RAM.

When I will get this ESXi server for labs, I want it to get the job done. If I must sacrifice 30% of its computing capacity only for storage, I don't think it would be a good idea ... :/ But I want confirmation of this thinking.

FireWire2

Distinguished