Help to finalize my build. Video card suggestions. (750D case, i7-4771, asus maximus vi formula, 16GB RAM)

digaev

Honorable
Oct 10, 2013
Hi, please help me to select a video card for my new build. I would like to install either stand-alone video card, or SLI configuration.

Here is my current configuration:

CPU: Intel Core i7-4771 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i + 4 Corsair Air Series SP120 High Performance Fans
Motherboard: Asus MAXIMUS VI FORMULA
Memory: G.Skill Trident X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro Series 256GB SSD
Case: Corsair 750D
Power Supply: Corsair AX860i

Couple of side notes:
a) this is my first attempt to build a computer
b) i currently operate it without discrete video card (my mobo has intel hd graphics card)
c) i do not want any bottlenecks (i mean i want adequate card for my cpu)
d) last priority would be black-colored card (aesthetics of my build are all in red and black colors)
e) if you can suggest ANYthing else, by looking at my build - please mention it as well (i am open to any and all suggestions to improve on my build)

The best card you can get is probably a GTX780 if you stretch the high end.
BUT the new AMD R9-290 and R9-290X will be launching very soon.
I suggest you consider would waiting for those before you buy.

digaev

Honorable
Oct 10, 2013
So, it is better to buy one good video card, instead of buying two not-so-good cards and combining them into Crossfire or SLI ?

digaev

Honorable
Oct 10, 2013
Ok, so GTX780 comes in several flavors: EVGA, Asus, MSI, etc. Which one is better? Or is each one of them geared towards certain advantages/disadvantages?

Another question: What would be real time difference between GTX780 ($600 range card) and GTX 770 ($400 range card).