PLEASE HELP, acer or lenovo

ACER Aspire V5-552G

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

bnot

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2007
So I need a new laptop as im a student so I need to be mobile.
I now have two choices (please don't recommend anything else as I'm not from USA or UK).
The first laptop is ACER Aspire V5-552G
A8-5557M (4 MB L2 cache, 2.10 GHz - 3.1 GHz, 35W)
8GB
1TB/
MD8750 2GB
15,6"

The second is LENOVO Z500 59-376077
Core i3 2348M
4GB
1000GB
GeForce GT740M
15.6''

Now an explanation for what do I need it.
As I travel to colege every day it needs to be solid and not to break apart. I will be using it for programing in C++,developing apps,web design,Photoshop or gimp.
I also have a desktop PC where I usually play my games but it would be nice if I could sometimes play on my laptop.
So which one do you recommend?
BTW they both cost around 440 pounds in my country (croatia)

In general, I would say Lenovo's laptops have better build quality. However, it also varies by model. Acer are generally affordable and at least to me only their TimelineX and TravelMate seems to be above average. TravelMate are their business oriented laptops so I would expect them to be good.

Having said that, I have a Lenovo IdeaPad Y470 that I am going to send it in for warranty service (I paid for 3 year warranty) because the nVidia GT 550m does not work properly anymore. When the drivers are installed the laptop usually crashes within 1 hour, a few times immediately after boot up. Therefore, I need to get it serviced. I don't play games with it anymore, but I might as well make use of the extended warranty I paid for.

The Z500 has a dual core CPU and in general it is more powerful than AMD's quad core CPU. In any application that only uses up to 2 cores the Z500 will have better performance. The GT 740m is more powerful than the Radeon HD 8750m. In fact, the GT 730m is a bit more powerful than the Radeon HD 8750.