New Storage Config Questions

swingking03

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2009
Currently, I have four HDDs and one SSD; the HDDs cary in range, size and age with one being a very old Maxtor drive. I am looking to upgrade in this area to simplify things and had the following questions for advice:

1. Is it ideal to have one HDD for all my storage (games, movies, music, documents, etc)? The OS is on the SSD.
2. I also have a 3TB external I wish to use for backup. Since I am new to backing up, what is the best method for doing this (image vs. files & folders)?
3. Can the SSD and OS be backed up onto the same external? I would like to have th OS bootable in case my SSD fails. I have read about backing up the OS to a USB...is this recommended?

I know my question is a bit long winded, but looking for some advice from the community. Thanks!

1. Depends on how large your files are. For an OS and just a few programs, one drive is fine.

2. You'll proabbly want to image your OS drive/partition and do file backups for the rest.

3. As long as your external has enough space, you can put all backups on the external.

You can't boot from your backup/image, but you could restore the image and then boot up normally. For example, you need a larger SSD. Insert the new SSD, restore the OS image you have onto it, swap the old SSD for the new one and boot. Most backup software will allow you to create a rescue disk so that you can boot directly from the rescue disk to do a restore.

swingking03

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2009

What backup software do you recommend?

Can you please explain how that works? A rescue disk allows me to boot, then I am able to "unpact" the image of my OS??? Sorry for being a pain, but I am consfused.

Szyrs

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2013