First build! Anyone willing to critique my specs?

Caveman_Dave

Honorable
Nov 11, 2013
I am getting ready for my first build this Christmas. I have selected most of the parts, but being a first-time builder, I would like a little help. In particular, my motherboard selection needs some help. Everything else seems decent to me. I have done my research and decided to go with AMD hardware.
A problem lies in the fact that motherboards are confusing to me. All the pins for fan headers and connectors and capacitors and WIRES (at least in my current PC: a 20-year-old hand-me-down) make my brain hurt. On top of that, I don't know what POSTing is, all the chipsets I hear people talking about, it's just a mess.
In short, I need help on selecting a motherboard (preferably ATX form factor, 4 DIMM slots, must be AM3+). My current choice is the Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3, but it doesn't seem to have the amazing reviews of a Sniper or the like.

Here are my other specs (in case they matter):
Case:: Cooler Master 431 Elite
CPU:: AMD FX-6300
CPU water cooling:: Cooler Master Seidon 120M
GPU:: ASUS Radeon 7770 2GB
RAM:: G.Skill Ripjawz X Series 1600 MHz 8 GB (2 x 4GB)
PSU:: Corsair CXM 500M
HDD:: Seagate Barracuda 2TB (Wasn't sure what to go for; do I really need the CUDA?)
Optical drive:: some random drive from ASUS I only plan to use for installing an OS

Total build cost: $578 USD (What should I do with the extra money?)
Budget: $700 USD
This rig will be for medium levels of gaming, video capture/editing/production, music production, and general use, in case that matters as well.

If you can help me select a board or just give me a tip about building in general, I would truly appreciate it!
:D

PepitoTV

Honorable
Oct 10, 2013
You can do better with your budget, take this as an example:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($158.98 @ SuperBiiz)