Drive options to remove the HDD startup lag on access

wockawocka247

Honorable
Nov 16, 2013
Hi all,
I've got an issue I'm stuck on, I'm looking for input from those in the know :)

Currently my entire system in SSD based. I'm a photographer and I have a LOT of files to move about.

My problem is storage. Currently my fast access files are all SSD, so the PITA drive spinning up on access that happens with standard HDD's which seems to freeze the system for a moment doesn't happen. But, I want more storage and don't want my system to hang whilst a large 2tb drive wakes up.

Do the new hybrid drives avoid this? i.e. the Seagate 2TB SSHD?

Generally because I'm usually copying files from one place to the next I don't need the drive to be zippy, just not laggy. So whilst I've looked at Sammy's 840 1tb SSD they still aren't big enough really.

Thanks in advance!

No the new hybrids don't avoid this. on the hybrids the SSD part is more of a Big Fast Cashe NOT an actual space to store items. But I know what you mean on the HDD hanging when you got SSD's. I don't see that very often but it does happen. Maybe use them in a USB or eSATA and then turn it on after it boots up?

popatim

Titan
Some drives observe the windows power setting which allows you to select to never power down the harddrive while other drives, like green drives, ignore the setting. You can find the setting in the power options>change setting>advanced settings menu.

giantbucket

Dignified
BANNED
ya, +1 to the above. i have a pair of 1.5T seagates and the Win7 power setting does exactly what it says - if i set it to 5 (minutes), then i can tell that the drives need to spin up if i'm idle for a while, but if i set it to 100 (minutes) or more then i can tell that they're just spinning and waiting for me to ask for a file.. and i don't think there's a max time - you can likely set it to at least 10,000 minutes (which is basically one week non-stop).