Getting started in IT

Pizzarolla

Honorable
Dec 4, 2013
Hi, my name is John. I'm 26 years old, soon to be 27. I'm a high school graduate, with no additional certifications of degrees, nor any sort of higher education.

Ever since getting out of high school, I've been working in entry level jobs that have nothing to offer besides a barely adequate paycheck. I've worked in retail for places like Wal-Mart and Target, and I've done food service as well.

I've been bouncing from job to job because I can't find anything I actually like. I'm good at all of it, I'm self motivated, and I take pride in my work, but I can't seem to last more than a year in any of these places because I know I'm just going to waste.

I didn't go to college after high school because I didn't know what I wanted to do. I've always been fascinated with anything tech related, and computers in particular. However, I didn't want to get into the IT field at first because I had very little confidence in my own abilities. When it comes to IT, my knowledge is very helter skelter. I've only been learning on a need to know basis. When something screws up, I teach myself how to fix it, and when I want to do something more, I teach myself how to do it.

This is how I've been expanding my knowledge of computers for over 20 years. I enjoy fixing technology, so I've been doing things like pc tuneups and malware removals, troubleshooting software and hardware issues, and doing pc upgrades for friends and family for years.