What is better an i7 Gen3 or i5 Gen4 processor for gaming? - Need some advise please?

bobsta63

Honorable
Dec 11, 2013
Hello,

Not knowing much about hardware (I'm a web developer) I'm hoping that some of you hardware-clued up people would be kind enough to offer me some advise/your opinions...

So to give you a little bit of background, Yesterday I ordered a few bits online to build a new home server to, I didn't want to spend the earth but I bought the following CPU and motherboard, the details of which are as follows:-

Intel Core i5 4670K 3.40GHz Socket 1150 6MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor
Asus B85M-G Socket 1150 VGA DVI HDMI 6+2 Channel HD Audio mATX Motherboard

Then I just thought would it actually be better to use the old hardware from my old(er) gaming machine for the server of which the stats are as follows:-

Intel Core i7 2600k 3.4GHz Socket 1155 8MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor
Asus P8Z68-V PRO Z68 Socket 1155 8 Channel HD Audio ATX Motherboard

My new home server will run various services on top of Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS, these are as follows:-

• ■File server
    ■ISC BIND and DHCP server (for internal DNS and DHCP)
    ■Virtualbox Headless (for development and test VM's) - I guess the i7 would be better here as I'd ■have 8 cores instead of 4??
    ■DLNA media streaming server