Asus Hero Mobo Q-code help

LittleJerk

Honorable
Jul 11, 2013
This is my first build, and aside from maybe touching the Mobo a few times, or accidentally touching my GPU's PCI connecter teeth by accident, I played it pretty much by the book. Most of everything went swimmingly.

Everything is new from Amazon:
NZXT Phantom
i7 4770k
Asus Maximus VI Hero
G.Skill Trident X SEries DDR3 2133/9 (2 x 8)
Hyper 212 EVO
EVGA Classified GTX 780
Corsair HX 1080w
Velociraptor 500 gig HDD
Samsung 840 EVO 250 gig SSD
Some LG 16x Blu-ray Writer
A bunch of CM LED fans to replace the case's stock fans, Sickle flow 1 x 140 mm, 4 x 120 mm, and another NZXT 200 mm for the top.
Aaaand... I think that's it

I HDMI'd my rig up to my monitor via the GPU, and USB'd my keyboard and mouse.

I turned on my CPU and I'm looking at the BIOS.

A few things: My Q-code displays "A3" which in the booklet is IDE Enable, which is a good thing. But is that the default, "Don't worry about anything, everything is ok?" Shouldn't there be a code specifically for that?

Second problem: The Asus Hero spec guide says the standard for the DRAM is 1333/1600 without OC.

However, it's not detecting my stick in the DIMM_A1 slot at all. and the B1 slot is detected at 1333 instead of 1600. (Even though the capacity is at 2133).

Should I be worried about the speed?

mc962

Honorable
Jul 18, 2013
Make sure that the A1 stick is all the way in there, I had a stick on my asus sabertooth that wasnt registering and it turns out I just had to jam it in farther. You may wish to test the stick that isnt being detected (or the slot, I wasnt quite sure if you meant the slot wasnt detecting the stick or the stick wouldnt show up) I don't believe you want IDE, as your drive should be a sata drive.

It might have defaulted it to 1333, mine defaulted to 1600 but i think i heard somewhere that sometimes the default is 1333. You can probably change it without much hassle if you want to.