Laptop or Desktop

Austin1994

Honorable
May 31, 2013
Internet, I need opinions! I am a college student (Computer Science), and looking to get a gaming computer. Currently I have a 2011 Macbook Pro, which SUCKS for any type of gaming. I need to know whether I should trade out my mac for a nice gaming laptop or get a budget-build desktop. The only gaming laptops out there that seem to stay cool and quiet are the 17" Asus and Alienware. Of course, these things are like 10 pounds though.
Thanks in advance!

it depends on what your priorities are, if you must have mobility then laptop is the way to go, and if budget is your main concern then desktops would be better.

what you should look for in a laptop if you are going that route is one with GDDR5 graphics chips (or an SLI setup using DDR3 chips is fine also), many use GDDR3 which is literally half as fast. Most of the time you'll be looking to spend about 900 or more.

If budget is not a problem or if your budget is hefty (like somewhere in the $1500 range), then I would suggest getting a laptop, that way you can carry it around too, I'm a college student also and know how much we move around.

Just a tip if you do get a laptop, do not really think about the cool and quiet parts when buying a laptop, it's better to pick a very powerful laptop hardware-wise, and then replace some of the extras on there like the fan and the thermal compound, because no matter how "cool n quiet" the companies advertise it to be, you'll be facing heat issues in 1-2 years time anyway (because the thermal paste they use is absolute crap unless they specifically name a brand that you can search for and assess), this way you won't get nickel'd and dimed for so-called "features" like better cooling and noise management that they can heavily mark up the price on.