Budget PC configuration for programming (running around 3 vm's at a time)

sam_programmer

Honorable
Dec 18, 2013
Hi Guys,

I was trying to search the budget PC configuration that will suit my needs. I can find thousand and thousand of Post for budget gaming pc. However, I am not able to find the configuration that I am looking for my particular need.

Here is my requirement. I am a hardcore programmer and want to run multiple VM's on my PC (some where around 3 VM's at a time). I am looking for a cheap PC configuration just to support this and the budget is around 400 USD. I am not looking for awesome graphics card or anything related to gaming stuff. When i run 3 VM's it eats up around 12 gb of ram.

Please advise.

Thanks...

Transmaniacon

Distinguished
Do you have any parts you can reuse? It is tough to get 16GB and a multi-core CPU for $400. AMD generally offers better value at this point, but then you would also need a GPU for display. If a dual-core would be enough, this build might work, otherwise I would save up some more.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Pentium G3420 3.2GHz Dual-Core Processor ($72.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-B85-HD3 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($133.60 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.98 @ OutletPC)
Case: Antec One ATX Mid Tower Case ($29.99 @ NCIX US)
Power Supply: Antec EarthWatts Green 380W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($44.98 @ OutletPC)
Optical Drive: LG GH24NSB0 DVD/CD Writer ($15.98 @ OutletPC)
Total: $432.50
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-12-19 08:13 EST-0500)

sam_programmer

Honorable
Dec 18, 2013