Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

First build...need help on PSU, cooling, and case!

Tags:
  • Gaming
  • Power Supplies
  • Cooling
  • Systems
  • Components
  • Cases
  • New Build
Last response: in Systems
December 19, 2013 3:50:57 PM

Hi folks, this is my first time building my own PC. All thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

I'm looking to put something together that works well enough right off the bat but which I can also tinker with in the long-term as more budget becomes available. Specifically, I'd like to be able to run games such as World of Tanks at moderate or better settings with the CPU at stock speed. Eventually, I'd like to add a cooler and get a bit of experience with overclocking as well as to add an additional GPU and SLI them.

General questions:
1. Any compatibiltiy issues?
2. Any budget-saving tips?

Specific questions:
3. Do I need to a cooling system or anything beyond stock fans if I don't OC right now?
4. Is the PSU sufficient to ultimately handle OC'ing and SLI'ing?
5. Is it worthwhile to buy a more powerful PSU now or buy a less powerful PSU until additional power is necessary?
6. What type of performance am I likely to get when gaming with this build? What is likely to be the first bottleneck?
7. I wouldn't mind being able to reuse the case for new builds down the road. Would you recommend this case or another one (preferably similarly priced)?

Thoughts on any of the above questions would be helpful. Thanks for the feedback!

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($179.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($119.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($59.99 @ Amazon)
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($160.00 @ Newegg)