[SOLVED] Advice on air cooling extra fans setup for i5 4670 Hasswell + Cooler master EVO 220

thenetvines

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
Straight to the point:

This is my unmodified case with stock fans:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119259

80mm Fans
No

120mm Fans
Rear: 1 x 120mm Fan

140mm Fans
Front: 1 x 140mm blue LED Fan
Top: 1 x 140mm Fan

Side Air duct
No

I have bought a new i5 Hasswell that I don't plan to OC, but seems to be notorious for running hot, so I bought a new Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120mm PWM Fan.

My question is if it's worth changing or adding more fans to this setup for better airflow, and if so, where extactly?

I am a complete noob when it comes to air flow cooling :s

ps: I don't care much about noise, since I have another setup with a 10 month old 212 Hyper Evo for an i5 Sandy Bridge that seems to have gone slightly louder even though I clean the system for dust rather monthly.

http://www.coolermaster.com/product/Detail/case/mid-tower/cm-690-ii-advanced-usb3.html

Front: 140 x 25mm blue LED fan x 1 / 1200RPM / 19dBA
Rear: 120mm fan x 1 / 1200 RPM / 17dBA
Top: 140 x 25mm fanx1/1200RPM/19dBA(supports120/140mm fan x 2)
Bottom: 120mm fan x 2 (optional)
Left side: 120/140mm fan x 2 (optional)
Right side: 80 x 15mm x 1 (optional)
HDD cage: 120mm fan x 1 (optional)

likely you are completely fine but if you wanted to add a fan i'd fill one of the side panel spots with a 140.

then just take a look at your temperatures idle and in game and see what they look like. i dont see a problem for a non o/c system though.

thenetvines

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009
Thanks SSDDX, I was a bit confused about the layout my case came with.

It seems that the top fan works as an intake, rather than an exhaust, and from what I read, the front and bottom are supposed to be intakes, and the back and top are supposed to be exhausts ?

If so, would the left side fan work as an intake or an exhaust?