First time new build

blitzlost

Honorable
Jan 2, 2014
Hello all, as the next generation of consoles stumbles down the road I find myself questioning my allegiance to them. With that said I've decided to build my own PC for once in my life. I have zero experience and I have just recently compiled a hardware list that I was hoping to get your opinion on. I think this list will give me enough power to last for the next few years! I mainly want to play Battlefield 4 and the zombie survival game DayZ. Obviously, I will branch into others but those are the main two. So below is the list please let me know where I've gone wrong or any tips/tricks.

Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87 LGA 1150 CrossFireX HDMI DVI ATX Motherboard
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX760 or depending on how much I wish to spend EVGA GeForce GTX 770
Corsair Vengeance 16GB or Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB I'm leaning more towards Ballistix
HD: WD Blue 1TB 7,200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal
Case: Cooler Master 500
PSU: Antec VP-450 450 Watt Energy Star Certified Power Supply

Solution
Hey man, ive had a little experience with custom builds and I happen to be having one built as we speak. from what I can research the I-7 gives not advantage to gaming over the I-5, im goin with the I-5 4670k overclocked to 4ghz with the same mother board you have listed. And as far as your graphics card goes, if you play BF4 (which is the main game I play also) go with a gtx 770 4gb, the 4gb I have researched and is by far the best option for bf4. 8gb is plenty but I like you am also going with 16b -2133ghz ram, ram is cheap, more is better lol. you will need a more powerful power supply, go with a reputable brand don't go cheap or itll burn up quick.

and a small bf4 tip, get a ssd drive when you can and have bf4 on it. battlefields...

blitzlost

Honorable
Jan 2, 2014