Why do certain motherboards increase performance over others?

BigChimp97

Honorable
Dec 27, 2013
Hi guys

I'm kinda new to computer components (a couple of years) and have been learning most of what I know from forums and YouTube videos by YouTubers such as Tek Syndicate and LinusTechTips. But one thing that has always bugged me is the fact that more higher end motherboards can apparently yield better performance, and it confuses me... alot, why does it matter? What about the motherboards makes the CPU or GPU have more potential than other motherboards? (I don't mean overclocking potential, I understand that completely).
I know that the components are higher quality but it can't be as simple as that surely.
This topic will be a discussion, so discuss away people, any information will be helpful.

mc962

Honorable
Jul 18, 2013
From what I understand, it's more about what features the board offers (so like I/O connections, fan options, pci slots, temperature sensors, sound, internet capabilities, etc.) Aside from overclocking, and the various features that allow for easier, more stable overclocking, I don't think the board itself does so much to get the "full performance" of the cpu and gpu. Sometimes there are some extra button and gadgets on the board itself but most of these from what I know are related to overclocking (or in the case of the sabertooth boards, are cooling fans and temperature sensors).

Different companies also design their BIOS differently, so Board A might have a very different, more featured BIOS than Board B, and these extra features might confer some benefit to the user that Board B is unable to. I remember hearing that the BIOS menus for some boards was a mess in terms of organization, while the menus for other boards was neatly presented and in a sensible order.