Project: custom integrated system/desk build

Prostheta

Honorable
Jan 5, 2014
Hi everyone - this is my first post here so I'll try not to barge in like a complete goon. I'm a guitar builder and wood artisan by trade, however I am familiar with computers on what I would call a "pro-thusiast" level. I'm also a bit of a maker with Aspergers so fun things tend to happen when I get focused on something. Good times.

This thread will document the planning and build process of a work desk into which I will integrate a complete new build system. The spec of the computer itself will be fairly basic as the needs are purely for my work however there are upgrade paths I am taking into consideration so as not to allow the design to "lock myself in". Since they will both be integrated there is plenty of opportunity for adding cool stuff into this project :)

-------------

Current spec is relatively middle-of-the-road. The system will be based around an LGA1150 board such as the Mini-ITX Asus H87I PLUS, an i5-4570 or i5-4570S, 2x4Gb DDR3 sticks, a 120Gb 840 EVO SSD with a 2Gb physical drive for data. A slim optical drive and card reader round this out to make a simple but usable system.

The project lifetime is about six months so spec might well change based on prevailing prices and availability. Can't see motherboard or other component's form factors radically altering in that time so I guess the component specifics are somewhat academic ;-)

-------------

The desk itself is a derivation of classic Greene & Greene's styles and motifs, so is primarily wood. The current basic design as it stands:

prelim_050114_zpsbb8b2453.jpg

Stylistically, this is how the finish product will look:

Greene_nightstand.jpg