IPS vs. 120/ 144hz monitors for gamer/ graphic designer

rebornupright

Honorable
Oct 4, 2013
I'm a freelance graphic designer. But I'm also a hardcore gamer. It's a tough thing to be at once because it seems like the choice now is between a monitor that's good for one or a monitor that's good for the other. Over the years, I have come to appreciate a high refresh rate for watching video and playing games, yet I know that this comes at the cost of color reproduction and resolution.

Graphic design is not yet a trade for me. It's just something I do freelance. Right now I'm using a Syncmaster P2770FH LED monitor. It seems to do great in terms of response time and color reproduction, however I do occasionally experience headaches playing FPS games because of the low refresh rate.

I'm looking for a monitor with a swivel for versatile viewing angles and something that will give me a great experience gaming. Which do you think is more important? Price is not really an object as I'm not looking to buy immediately, but $400 is probably my maximum.

Solution
I used to have a TN gaming monitor, but recently started doing a lot of graphic arts/After Effects work. It was just impossible to get accurate color and detail on this monitor so I treated myself to an IPS and made a night and day difference of my workflow making it not only easier to see more color and detail, but also made my games look much more beautiful. Stay away from the Korean model monitors (such as Qnix) that claim to be "overclockable" because there are many problems on the internet and videos showing the hardware not being able to handle anything above 60Hz and really puts a toll on them and technically not designed to be doing that. I suggest going with a good legit gaming/IPS monitor such as these ones which have...

tmacg55

Honorable
Dec 24, 2013