CPU or GPU in first upgrade?

Euhno

Honorable
Jan 7, 2014
Hi to all, this is my first time posting here, I would like to ask for your opinion on this. I just want to know which is the most suitable upgrade for me?

my current PC specs are:

Mobo: MSI 760GM-P23 (FX)
CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 270
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6670 2GB DDR3
RAM: Kingston 4GB 1333 (2x2GB)
PSU: Corsair VS550

I researched that my motherboard can support up to FX cpus and I am planning to upgrade my athlon to an FX-6300 Black Edition (if I choose cpu over gpu upgrade). And for the gpu upgrade I'm thinking of replacing my 6670 to a Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 Dual-X card. After which, whichever I choose to upgrade first, I'm going to replace my ram for a corsair xms3 1600 8gb (2x4gb)

I'm still a student so I don't have that much money to upgrade them both at the same time I only got the money from my savings. So what would you guys think is the best option for me, being money-wise? CPU or GPU? Thanks.

Solution
Well dual core is typically the minimum requirement now for most games, not recommended. Second it's not all about the cores, the frequency, the processes per clock, and cache are also important. There is a reason your CPU is in the 7th tier on the toms CPU ranking (it actually isn't on there but other versions such as the 265 are in the 7 th tier and it is just .1 MHz slower)

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-cpu-review-overclock,3106-5.html
Would go CPU first, you will see improved performance in every aspect of your computer not just gaming. Also, if you go gpu first your CPU will bottleneck the gpu so it won't help much anyway

Zetor895

Honorable
Jan 5, 2014
Hi,

First: CPU since a lot of softwares (including games) can handle 4 cores already.
Second: VGA, because it isn't so outdated than your CPU and currently AMD is not so far from Nvidia (at all) than from Intel regarding speed.
Third: RAM, since 4 GB is enough for this system now.

Euhno

Honorable
Jan 7, 2014