Sign in with
Your question

Question about SLI and Crossfire X "support" video cards

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 9, 2014 2:11:26 AM

Okay this might be a stupid question, but I'm new to graphics cards and PC gaming so give me a break if I sound dumb, but I've been shopping around for a new video card for my gaming rig with a low budget mainly between 100-200$ and I keep coming across SLI and Crossfire X "support" video cards, but for more money I can get the same exact card that's not a "support" model but I'm guessing the main model that the support model backs up. Say for example the ASUS gtx titan has a normal model and an SLI "support" model but the support model is cheaper. What is the difference and is it possible to just use the "support" model as a regular main solo graphics card without spending the extra money? And If I would spend the extra money what am I paying for other than slightly faster clock speeds?
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2014 7:50:25 AM

jledens said:
Okay this might be a stupid question, but I'm new to graphics cards and PC gaming so give me a break if I sound dumb, but I've been shopping around for a new video card for my gaming rig with a low budget mainly between 100-200$ and I keep coming across SLI and Crossfire X "support" video cards, but for more money I can get the same exact card that's not a "support" model but I'm guessing the main model that the support model backs up. Say for example the ASUS gtx titan has a normal model and an SLI "support" model but the support model is cheaper. What is the difference and is it possible to just use the "support" model as a regular main solo graphics card without spending the extra money? And If I would spend the extra money what am I paying for other than slightly faster clock speeds?