To upgrade or not to upgrade? Can't make up my mind.

Zapa

Honorable
Jan 13, 2014
I having trouble deciding to upgrade now or wait a bit longer. I've been building my machines for the past 15+ years and it's this time I am not sure I'm doing the right thing. Therefore, I'd appreciate any clarity you may provide.

My current system turning 4 years this April is as follows:

Cpu Intel Core I 930 OC to 3.6
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6 gb 1600 Corsair Dominator 8,8,8,24
SSD Crucial C300 128 gb
GPU Radio HD 5970
Sound sound blaster fatality
Power Thermaltake Toughpower 1000w
A couple of storage drives

I do a about 50% gaming at the highest settings possible, but I also do photoshop, spreadsheets and multimedia/multitasking cpu things, so I tend to use everything to the max.

My proposed upgrades are:
Motherboard Asus Maxiumus Hero VI
Memory 16-32 gb Cosair Vengeance 1600 or 1866 perhaps.
CPU Intel Core i7 4770k
Cosair water cooler H80i?
Ssd Samsung 840 pro 256 gb
GPU Nvidia 780 ti
Possibly bluray player

I can't afford it all at once but cpu or gpu I could do first. I like the features and I have the itch to upgrade. There are some intense graphical games coming late 2014 and early 2015. My current system is starting to act up a little bit, but still manageable . So do I upgrade or wait for another generation. If I upgrade now, cpu or gpu?

Thank you for any assistance

Solution
When you have the itch, scratch it.

I think a 4770K will be a good cpu for the foreseeable future.
It has a passmark rating of 10281 compared to 5196 for the 930.
I think I would do that first.

I do not much like all in one liquid coolers when a good air cooler can do the job.
A liquid cooler will be expensive, noisy, less reliable, and will not cool any better
in a well ventilated case.
Liquid cooling is really air cooling, it just puts the heat exchange in a different place.
The orientation of the radiator will cause a problem.