Sign in with
Your question

First Time gaming/media/htpc build, picked out parts, but could use some confirmation and guidance

Last response: in Systems
January 13, 2014 8:31:02 PM

So this is my first time building a pc as well as my first time posting a link; I will go ahead and apologize for any broken rules. I tried to read up on the guidelines first. I'm just tired of the console circlejerk and feel like I could get more use, longevity, and power out of building my own gaming desktop. I intend to use it as essentially a new console, but I will also use it for general entertainment purposes (browsing reddit, watching videos, watching movies, writing papers, listening to music, etc.).
I wanted to build a pc that would be powerful enough to last me for several years before upgrading anything, and several more years adding new parts as need be. I intended on hooking it up to my tv and surround sound instead of using a simple monitor.
TV is a Samsung UN65ES8000
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN65ES8000FXZA
Surround Sound is a 5.1 Yamaha YHT 497
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/hometheater...
My Budget on the build is $2000, but being under that would be great as long as performance isn't sacrificed. The TV is an active 3D TV, and when I last searched, I had a hard time finding information on using an HTPC as a 3D bluray player. My understanding is that is more about the software than the hardware, but still I'm not sure what requirements need to be met besides a bluray optical drive. As for the sound, my understanding is that the appropriate motherboard should take care of getting it in 5.1, or a soundcard if need be. I didn't know if it would be as simple as just plugging an optical audio cable in, or if I could even run the sound out of the HDMI with the video.
I had fiddled around with picking parts on pcpartpicker.com, and i had come up with a few (3) slightly different builds. Here are some links to those: