My PC vs macs

lucida

Honorable
Jan 1, 2014
So I was just wondering up until which version of imacs, if my PC better than a Mac, or if it's even better at all. This is my first build and I'm pretty new to computer building so I'm not an expert at all in parts.

Here;s my build :http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/p/2tSQs

Here are the macs I wanna compare to http://store.apple.com/ca/buy-mac/imac

lucida

Honorable
Jan 1, 2014
I already purchased the parts, i haven'taassembled it yet. What would you change?

My px will be for general /social networking use, not gaming.

I wanted to compare the two pc's in general (if possible)

I would have changed the GPU. It is WAY more than you need if you aren't gaming and not enough if you are gaming. You also have no need or use for the CPU cooler because your CPU cannot be overclocked, so that was a waste but other than that it is a good build.

Well your CPU is basically the same as the i5s offered in those computers. That's about all there is to it. In reality, no one would even be able to tell the difference between those computers and yours as they are so comparable. the only real difference is the gaming power as those PCs have different GPUs. You aren't gaming so for all intents and purposes, your computer has the same RAM and basically the same CPU so it is pretty much exactly comparable to those MACs. You have an SSD so yours will boot faster and programs will load quicker, but in terms of actual computing power, your computer and those are the same.

lucida

Honorable
Jan 1, 2014
So if I was running alot of programs and using the CPU to the max, the fan would be able to cool it down?

For just general usage and internet browsing, really the only thing that would make a difference is an SSD, you don't need a lot of computing grunt to browse facebook and run MS Word.
So for your usage, the real question is whether you like Windows or OSX better.