Asus Mobo - Crash, then 1 long and 3 short beeps

exzachtly1

Honorable
Jan 18, 2014
Hey all, I have a new build that I've been using as a gaming PC for the basement. Here is the link to it: http://pcpartpicker.com/b/Krk

It has been performing flawlessly for about 3 weeks now; I just finished a play through of Far Cry 3 (about 30 hours) with no issues. However, just last night I started playing Metro 2033 and after about a half hour, the computer crashed and the motherboard started emitting a beep code. Seemed to be one long, followed by 3 short beeps and it kept repeating.

I looked this up and it -seems- to be an issue with the video card and/or the PSU not supplying enough power. I think my video card is probably OK given that it did a play through of Far Cry 3 with no issues... so I'm thinking the power supply may not be up to snuff (especially based on this thread that is referring to basically the same setup as mine: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/327151-30-long-beep-short-beeps-asus-m5a78l)

Is it possible that Metro 2033 is just a more demanding game, therefore putting a higher load on the R9 270 and demanding more power than the PSU can handle? Or should I be investigating whether there is a problem with the GPU? How can I test that the GPU is functional - is there a memory test or something I can run to diagnose? I have a few more days left to be able to return / RMA things, after that I'll probably end up having to warranty if something is truly wrong.

Thanks a lot!

exzachtly1

Honorable
Jan 18, 2014

Well, I just spent around an hour and half playing Metro 2033 with no issue. Used MSI afterburner to monitor temps while I was playing, and the GPU temp peaked out at around 80c. I thought maybe the initial error was due to overheating, but 80c is an acceptable maximum, is it not?