my old X6 1090T Black Edition, upgrade it?

trottermtg

Honorable
Jan 18, 2014
Hey guys,

I've been using my 1090T for about 3 years I'd say. Its paired with an XFX HD 6870. They have been generally good for me. I have it connected to a 32 inch TV and mostly just play games on it. I'll watch netflix, HBO GO and stuff like that as well but its mostly gaming.

I play basically everything from fallout and skyrim to xcom and nba 2k14 with a couple MMOs for good measure. I've got your basic mid range system from about 2011 and I'm starting to feel the systems age.

I've got a couple hundred bucks in my pocket and would like to upgrade at least one part now and then maybe go full in on an upgrade late spring or early summer. The main question is should I start with my CPU? If I was going to pick one piece to start with, should it be the CPU (or the GPU?)

Thanks!

rmm03

Honorable
Apr 21, 2013
I would upgrade the gpu considering that cpu still performs well in comparison to today's Fx series cpu. And Ur gpu is actually a little on the low end by today's standards. Radeon 7950 or 7970 should be perfect for u for a few more years or maybe an r9 series. Depending on how much u wanna spend

trottermtg

Honorable
Jan 18, 2014
I was thinking about an R9 as well but thought my CPU was more outdated than my GPU. If that isn't the case then I know exactly what to do. 270x here I come.

Thanks!!!

trottermtg

Honorable
Jan 18, 2014
I like what I'm hearing about the processor. Do you guys think I could go another year with it? I ask because I' was all set to get the 270x (my price range) but if I could squeeze another year out of the processor then I'd get the R9 270 and when I upgrade in the spring pass on the CPU and add another R9 270.

That would leave me in a good spot so that in December of this year/Jan of the next I could upgrade the CPU. I hope that was easy enough to follow. Thoughts?