Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking AMD 8320 need advice and opinions please.

Tags:
  • Overclocking
  • AMD
Last response: in Overclocking
January 29, 2014 6:16:16 AM

Im new to overclocking amd chips, however I did research and learn a little before I did it. And wanted to ask you guys if everything looked good for my overclock.

Specs. ASROCK 990FX Fatailty Killer
AMD 8320 Overclocked to 4.1ghz
8gb Gskill Sniper 1866 DDR3.

My question is. In the bios I have the Vcore voltage of the cpu set to 1.265v it does not give me an option on this board to mess with the multiplier and leave the voltage set at auto (otherwise I would have just bumped the multiplier and left the voltage at auto for a easy overclock), when I stress test this cpu why does it only use 1.192v-1.2v and not 1.265 like i have it set in the bios ? If you look at my picture you will see what I am talking about. Temps on prime 95 max out at 61-63c on a hyper 212 evo (I may have to reapply thermal paste but I do not have good airflow in ,my case) to me I think these temps are ok since I will never max it out anyways.

What do you guys think? Here is a direct link to my picture as well http://s28.postimg.org/6w8b537kd/My_overclock.pnghttp:/...

online photo sharing" alt="" class="imgLz frmImg " />

More about : overclocking amd 8320 advice opinions

a b K Overclocking
January 29, 2014 7:24:06 AM

you definitely need to do something about your case airflow and reapply your thermal paste. I have mine overclocked to 4600 @ 1.37v and I don't get over 66 core in prime95 after a 6 hour run with the same cooler.

edit: download HWMonitor...in that program cpu temp is the socket temp and package temp is the core temp.
January 29, 2014 7:30:44 AM