Please help a COMPLETE newbie not ruin his first build!

RadicalDreamer89

Honorable
Feb 1, 2014
Hello all! After far too long of browsing Steam and thinking "Boy, I wish I could play that", I have decided to build my first gaming PC. I'm nowhere near ready to build, as I've only just started saving.

Like the title says, I am a COMPLETE newbie to this. I have general rudimentary knowledge of computers, but I have no experience building or tinkering with a PC, save for swapping out a HDD or some RAM on my laptop. I've been trying to do my homework and learn as much as I can, but it's a bit overwhelming all at once (I've been Googling a LOT of acronyms). I'm easily a few months away from building, so hopefully things start to sink in by then. I've been watching How To videos and reviews/descriptions of various parts, mostly from the Newegg series on YouTube (if there's a better/easier way to learn please point me that way!).
The PC I'm looking to build is going to be used for the standard stuff (browsing, streaming video, etc.), but primarily for gaming. I'm not really looking for an absolute god-tier machine. I don't need/want to run Skyrim and Crysis simultaneously at max settings (not even sure how that would work. . .), but I'd like to be able to run anything that might tickle my fancy at least on normal settings.

Here is what I've got after a few days of research and Googling about:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2Lc08

So, please, critique the hell out of me! Any recommendations for less expensive and/or comparable parts is also very welcome (a few dollars difference doesn't matter).