Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 CPU Issues...I think

falcon_a9

Honorable
Feb 6, 2014
Hey All,

I have been a silent member for a few years and just today decided I needed to post for the first time.

I have been building a new system and finally got all the parts over my winter break (I'm a freshman in college).

My new system is as follows:

Cooler Master Cosmos II Computer Case
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 LGA 2011 Motherboard
Intel Xeon E5 2687W 8-Core 3.1GHz ES CPU
Corsair H110 CPU Water Cooling System
Avexir 32GB (4x 8GB) 2133MHz Quad-Channel RAM
Seagate Momentous XT 750GB HDD (I had it just laying around)
EVGA 780 Ti Dual-Link SC Graphics Card (03G-P4-2888-KR)
Rosewill 2xRJ45 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Card
Plextor 8x Blu-Ray Read/Write Drive (From an older build)
Corsair RM850 850W Modular PSU

And it doesn't boot
I get the error for a graphics card error from the speaker on the Mobo, however I have put the GPU in other computers and confirmed that it does in fact work so I moved on to what else it could be. I think (THINK) that it might be the fact that I am using an ES version of the CPU that has QAMS stepping. I am not sure what BIOS was shipped on my motherboard and my CPU is only listed as supported for the F4 (latest BIOS from Gigabyte). The only time I got a successful boot I had a friend (The guy across the hall's) GTX 560 Ti instead of my 780 Ti. So back to what I think is going on...I believe that the CPU is only able to see PCIe 2.0x16 Graphics Cards (I also tried a GTX 680 to no avail) with the version of BIOS that I am running on my Mobo. I am not sure if this is even possible (I have never used a ES CPU before), but to me that makes sense. I just want to hear what you all think of this as well as do you know if the Motherboard will support the QAMS stepping if I update it to the F4 BIOS.

I have loved this community and look forward to hearing from all of you about the problem!

Thanks,
falcon_a9

Hope it is bios issue. Note this.

Support IVB-E CPU