Building a new desktop gaming pc

Good-in-Theory

Honorable
Feb 6, 2014
Hi all,

TL;DR Version

I'd like to build something around my (already owned) Geforce 650 ti 2gb and a (yet to be bought) Intel i5 3570 or 4670 (to K or not to K, that is the question) with 6-8 GB of RAM. Will that run Skyrim pretty and run the Witcher 3 in the future? If so, what mother board and power supply should I get? If not, what do I need to spend more money on as far as the core components goes?

More meandering version:

I've been running the same machine for 6 years or so and am now looking to upgrade. I don't really stay on the cutting edge of releases so I've been able to make due with my cpu (Wolfdale Core 2 Duo 3.0 ghz) but that's starting to change. I bought some relatively new components for my old build recently and have an idea about the processor I want but would welcome any help on fleshing out the build and figuring out what I can retool and what I can't. I was figuring I'd salvage what I could from the old build while still keeping it running as a 2nd machine and put together something new.

I think Skyrim is on the edge of things I'd like to run reasonably well - Kingdoms of Amalur, Sins of a Solar Empire, Fallout 3, The Old Republic and maybe some other MMOs like Neverwinter or Warframe are some other things. In the future I'm looking forward to the Witcher 3, so being ready for that would be good.

I've never tried to overclock or run cards in SLI or done much in the way of tinkering, but I'm open to some small tweaks if they're easy and safe enough.

For the processor I'm looking at the Intel Core i5 3570 or the i5 4670. Not sure whether I should go for the Ivy or the Haswell and if the -K versions are worth it, so any direction there would be helpful.

I recently replaced my ASUS 8600 GT 512 mb with an EGA GeForce 650 Ti 2gb. I was planning on just pulling the 650 Ti out for the new machine. Would it be worthwhile to try running two of them in SLI?