Another First Build Advice Thread

LinuxFan3E8

Honorable
Feb 7, 2014
Hello,

I'm looking to build my own computer that I will use for virtualisation and gaming. (Through Xen and or VirtualBox)
So far I've chosen the Intel i7-4770 as my CPU, as it's cheaper than the K model and from what I can tell better for virtualisation. (please correct me if I'm wrong)

This is my first build so I don't know a lot about what brands and such are good for what components. Could you guys please help point me in the direction of some reliable information that will help me select the rest of the parts?
I worry that going to random websites might not provide very accurate information which could end up negatively effecting the end product.

If you guys could recommend any parts, that would also be helpful. I don't play a lot of graphics intensive games, but I would like to install ENB mods and such in Skyrim without it ending up like a slideshow. Also I would much prefer a NIC that works in BSD and Linux without making me lose my hair.

And to be clear I will not be trying to play games in a virtual machine.

Thanks.

LinuxFan3E8

Honorable
Feb 7, 2014

My budget is about $3400, and there's no parts I'm carrying over.
In my country computer hardware costs a fair bit more than it does in the US and other countries, so that has to be taken into account with the budget.

GorfTheFrog

Distinguished
Aug 12, 2009
Congratulations on your choice to build! It's lots of fun and you'll get *exactly* the machine you want!

To get you started, I'd recommend going to the front page of tomshardware.com and scrolling down to the "Latest Articles" section. You'll find great articles and reviews on current products, which will give you a sense of what's out there.

Adding my personal 2cents to your question on reputable brands - there are lots out there. For my own personal biases. However, you'll find that there are lots of good brands out there.
- I'm partial to Intel CPUs.