Solved

I need your help! Trying not to get ripped off buying a computer.

Hello all,
okay so let me explain this real quick. I am going to buy a new computer, but the question is to build or not to build. So should I buy a factory built computer or build one. I have built my own computers twice. I am not a professional at all. Now I want to do the basic things like watch videos and browse the web, but I also want to be able to play video games well if possible for my budget. Now this is the tricky part, I am only wanting to spend from 500-700 being the most for this computer. I don't need the best of the best but what could I buy for this price. That is only including the tower. Okay as an example I thought maybe I could buy this computer http://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-desktop-8gb-memory-1tb-hard-drive/1822131.p?id=1219065403797&skuId=1822131 and just add the video card and power supply. But is it really better?

Thank you for you input in advance!
13 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about ripped buying computer
  1. Homebuilt is almost always better value for money.

Filling out this is helpful.
  2. The problem is I have no idea what parts I should built it from. I mean I have been wracking my brain all day trying to research, but I guess I haven't been keeping up with things and there is to much stuff to choose for the value.
  3. Fill out the link I posted, and I'll help you.
  4. Best answer
    You should check this out. This is the best bang for the buck..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SfGE4i_A6E4
  5. Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: About 2 weeks.
    Budget Range: 500-700 Would rather keep below 650.
    System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, browsing, watching video.
    Are you buying a monitor: Not included in budget

Parts to Upgrade: From scratch

Do you need to buy OS: Already own

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: does not matter.

Parts Preferences: None

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

No monitar yet.