IPS 60hz vs 120hz monitor with 780 Ti?

hawaado

Honorable
Feb 14, 2014
I'm a complete newbie at this so bare with me. I've got my first rig with a GTX 780 Ti graphics card. I'll be using the PC for gaming/video editing/watching movies, basically just about everything.

I'm not a hardcore gamer by any means and I love quality visuals so would opt for an IPS 60hz monitor under normal circumstances. However, when I will play games the 780 Ti will push above 60fps, and if I have a 60hz monitor, wont this cause screen tearing?

I've heard of V-sync but have heard people say it's nothing compared to having it switched off and having a 120hz monitor instead.

I really have no idea what I'm doing.

If you could help me out that would be much appreciated. With a single 780 Ti, should I go for an IPS 60hz or would I be better off with a 120hz monitor?

Thank you in advance.

doubletake

Honorable
Sep 30, 2012
This is an entirely subjective decision, no real shortcut. You're going to have to experience both and decide for yourself which one you prefer. I personally don't mind screen tearing one bit, but I also game on a 120hz panel, and occasionally use my nicer looking budget IPS screens for movies/picture viewing/editing. The same may not apply to you.

V-sync has been known to introduce some input lag. Nvidia does have adaptive v-sync which works well enough for me. 120hz monitors also have to sacrifice some color clarity vs. standard 60 tn panels. One other way you can solve your problem is to buy a QHD monitor. The higher resolution will put a greater strain on your GPU thus reducing the tearing. The average 120hz panel is about 250 you can buy budget QHD panels like the one in the link for 350.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA2RY0X59885

Adaptive V-sync is nice, but it does not eliminate the latency from V-sync that occurs when you reach your refresh rate with your FPS in a DirectX game that uses triple buffering.