Which GPU should I (can I) run on my aging PC?

Vukovic

Reputable
Feb 15, 2014
Thank you in advance to anyone willing to help a clueless console gamer. :)

I am not a PC gamer. I have been playing on consoles for the last 10 years. I have some PC gaming friends with which I would like to play Elder Scrolls Online. I think I might be able to get away with replacing only my GPU. I have no interest in building a gaming PC at this point. I'm hoping I can give the game a try without spending a ton of money.

This is my current PC:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5602487

According to this, my CPU should be adequate and I have plenty of RAM:
http://www.game-debate.com/games/index.php?g_id=3734&game=The+Elder+Scrolls+Online&p_make=Intel&p_deriv=Core+i5-650+3.2GHz&gc_make=Nvidia&gc_deriv=GeForce+310+512MB&ram=8&checkSubmit=#systemRequirements

I know that online tool probably can't and shouldn't be trusted, but it's a place for me to start. I don't know much about graphics cards and I'm not sure what/where the best resource is to start learning, so I'm hoping one of you gurus can point me in the right direction. I could probably find something that would, according to its specs, get the job done. My fear is that I might end up buying one that for whatever reason won't work well with my relatively old (4 years) PC.

What would you do if you just wanted to play Elder Scrolls Online with this PC? Is that even a reasonable thing to expect to be able to do?

OnkelCannabia

Honorable
Nov 9, 2013
Well the thing with pre-builts is that companies almost always cheap out on the PSU and often on the case. People who built there own PCs usually put in at least 500w if not more, yet those pre-builts sometimes use as little as 250w PSU. Your PC has a 300w PSU, which is slightly better suited for a gaming GPU than a hot potato.