Dell Alienware M17X R4 Customer/Tech Service Issues (Repeatedly)

Status
Not open for further replies.

EthanPark

Reputable
Feb 16, 2014
Hi guys. I've been a long-time visitor of this site for many situations dealing with tech recommendations (and random tidbits); even seasoned IT co-workers of mine always like the site as a quick reference at times.

Anyway, my Dell Alienware M17X R4 Laptop (purchased factory refurbished from the Dell Site about $1350 with 30% off rebate offer during the July 4th sale) in July of last year (2013) has been giving me issues since November.

1. The audio & wireless NIC stopped being detected at the same time in November, so I had to contact Dell to resolve the issue (I work in IT, but refuse to open up something I purchased to fix it to avoid any warranty issues; especially when I suspected hardware issues). The technician came (I had to take a bit of time off of work that day since they only visit during regular business hours) and spent 3-4 hours trying to change the wireless NIC & audio.

2. After he left (and took a $5 tip, which I later found out wasn't allowed), I noticed that he had not even put the laptop cover back with the bottom flapping a bit... AND the webcam was no longer being detected. I had to call Dell again and tell them about the issue. I had to take a day off of work again where the technician replaced the entire screen because the webcam shares the came connection with it; it did not resolve the issue, and he called Dell to let them know (we both agreed that it was probably the MoBo). They asked me to send my laptop to the Dell facilities to get it serviced there. There goes 1-2 hours off of work to drop the package off at their selected postal provider.