Wanting to build a quality gaming PC. Looking for feedback with part selection compatibility.

dookiequeen

Reputable
Feb 16, 2014
Hello, I am hoping to build myself a good quality gaming PC that would give me good performance at a reasonable price. So far I have a general list of parts picked out that I would like to use in this build. I am very new to this, and would appreciate some feedback on my choices. Below are the parts and why I picked them out:

CPU-Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor

I was recommended this CPU as it is good for a solid gaming PC. I'm not really into heavy video editing and photoshop, so I don't think it's necessary for me to look into bumping that up into an i7. I am looking for something that will generally keep me satisfied for the forseeable future.

CPU Cooler-Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler

For this PC, I am unsure if I'd actually need liquid cooling or not (though I'd prefer not to). I have seen this fan mostly suggested for non-water cooling builds, but am wondering if it will be adequate for what I am trying to make here.

Motherboard-MSI Z87-G45 Gaming ATX LGA1150 Motherboard

Right now I'm unsure on what mobo I'll need. I'm looking for something with SLI that will be beneficial should I wish to upgrade in the future.

Memory-G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

I was told by a friend that G.Skill would be a good brand for memory.

Storage-Samsung 840 EVO 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

I was looking into this and I think a SSD will be good for this build.

Video Card-EVGA GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card

I'm looking for a GPU that'll allow me to run most games near or on the highest settings. I am unsure right now about overclocking.

Case-Corsair Graphite Series 230T Orange ATX Mid Tower Case