Monitor for PC, PS4, PS3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

G-rex

Reputable
Feb 20, 2014
Hey everyone, this is my first post but I've been browsing the forums for awhile now. I know this is probably the best place to seek advice for the plans I have. I plan on building my first gaming rig soon and I want to be able to use the same monitor I choose for my PS3 and PS4. I'm mainly looking for a 24-27 inch 1080p led display; prefer 27. I just need some suggestions. I don't plan on using anything higher than a gtx 770 in my build if that helps. Something that I could hook up a desktop speaker system to would be preferred too so I could use it for all 3 devices if I can. I'm a rookie at this build stuff so bear with me, thanks.

Solution
Honestly, you can lean back in the chair just fine with a 24" monitor. The difference isn't going to be worth making the PC visuals crappier - at least not to me.

And since you already have the TV, I would leave the consoles the way they are.
You should give a budget, but my advice is try pcpartpicker.com . I'll have a look.

Some tips:
1) Need an HDMI input that is HDCP
2) If you can't find 2xHDMI, then you can get an inexpensive HDMI splitter from Monoprice to choose between PS3 or PS4
3) recommend 5ms or lower

4) Do you need 3D capability for NVidia or AMD?
5) Do you want more than 60Hz?
6) IPS is better but costs more.

I'll have a quick look and post something (assuming United States).

I recommend something like THIS: http://pcpartpicker.com/part/benq-monitor-gw2750hm

I don't think you'll find TWO HDMI connectors, but here's the basic specs:

- HDMI
- audio output (headphone jack-> can attach to speakers via 3.5mm M->M cable)
- speakers (don't use)
- DVI (for monitor)
- VGA (won't need)
- 27", 1920x1080

As I said for BOTH the PS3/PS4 you'll either need an HDMI switch (I meant switch not splitter) or just manually move the HDMI cable between them.

Monitor site:
http://www.benq.ca/product/monitor/gw2750hm/specifications/