Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Neither

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

microhardware

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2010
Hello everyone,

I've been saving up for the last 6 months to upgrade my cards. Currently running on 2 x 460 SLI, but they are starting to chug on anything semi-recent. I want to be able to run games on the highest settings it has to offer, 1920x1080, and 4xAA at least. Shadows are my current set up's worst enemy.

Prices for both these cards are comparable where I live. 350 euro give or take.

I have looked up all I can and I seem to not find information comparing these cards. It's either reference GTX vs Sapphire or reference R9 280X vs MSI.

http://versus.com/en/sapphire-toxic-r9-280x-oc-vs-msi-geforce-gtx-770-lightning

Is the only one where I was able to compare them, but I don't know how reliable that is.

System Specs:

i5 2500k @ 3.30 GHZ (stock)
16 GB of RAM (I do a lot of audio editing)
1920 x 1080 Resolution
SSD for OS

If there is a better R9 280X or GTX770, feel free to suggest it.

I'd like to pull the trigger soon.

microhardware

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2010

Any reason? The R9 280X seems to do quite well everywhere. It also has more VRAM which might help with textures and DX 11.2 while the 770 only has 2GB of VRAM and DX 11.0.

Benchmarks sometimes put the 280X higher and other times the 770.

taylor225

Honorable
Oct 6, 2013
u can only get access to the directx 11.2 by using windows 8 and plus prices for the 280x rarely never drop they usually always go up highest ive seen 280x go up to was like $600 while the 770 price usually just drops every once in a awhile......... do u plan on buying it now or later on like weeks later on? the price for a toxic is $500 while the price for the lightning is only $359.99 and plus they are both out of stock since they are very popular cards

microhardware

Distinguished
Sep 29, 2010

Hi Taylor,

Thanks for answering.