Advice requests & questions for a freshman in community college for Computer Science

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evenger14

Honorable
Nov 3, 2013
I'm currently in my first semester in a CC for a CS degree, after two years here I will transfer to a University, if I can ever figure out which one. I do have some questions regarding a future in CS and what I should do now to better prepare myself.

First of all a little summary about me: I'm 17 (18 this year) and for lack of a better phrase, I didn't have my crap together. I had no idea what I wanted to go to college for, and so I never really did anything to better prepare myself. I was homeschooled, and got my GED right after I turned 17 and didn't go straight to college, instead I worked for 6 months or so part time not really doing anything. I have no personal projects like people say you should have, such as a phone app or website, something to put on your resume to show you have initiative. Well my problem is that I'm just now learning programming through Code Academy, and I'm only just now learning the basics of JS, but I'm working on it every day.

I'm behind in math, but I'm taking extra classes during this summer for it and I'm working as hard as I can to advance myself in it, though I've a ways to go.

I do currently have a 3.6GPA, though it's on the rise and it's only been 8 weeks.

Now that you know that little bit about me, time for the questions:

I've not yet met with a career counselor though I plan to sometime soon. After looking through some of the different job types available to someone with a CS degree (PayScale of CS Jobs) I feel a little overwhelmed. What are some of the job fields you guys are in, and what can you tell me about your personal experience with them?